Stanley Melbourne Bruce

Stanley Melbourne Bruce (later Viscount Bruce of Melbourne) (1883-1967) was a Gallipoli veteran and experienced businessman before he entered Parliament in 1918. Within little more than four years he became Australia’s eighth prime minister. Among his enduring achievements was the coalition agreement between the non-Labor parties. He oversaw Parliament’s move to Canberra in 1927, but lost his seat at the 1929 election, and after winning it back in 1931 had little real influence. Outmanoeuvred by Joe Lyons after the fall of the Scullin government, he was unwillingly sent to London as high commissioner and represented Australia at the League of Nations.

Download the Stanley Melbourne Bruce Prime fact


9 February 1923

Stanley Melbourne Bruce becomes Prime Minister

Following the 1922 election, Country Party leader Earle Page, whose party holds the balance of power in the House of Representatives, refuses to form a coalition with the Nationalists unless Billy Hughes resigns as Prime Minister. Hughes eventually does so and the party elects 40-year-old Treasurer Stanley Bruce as the new Prime Minister, governing in coalition with Page. The Bruce–Page government formalises Cabinet as a decision-making body and is the first government to sit at what is now Old Parliament House, on 9 May 1927, when the federal government formally moves to Canberra. For more information, visit the Australian Prime Ministers Centre.


Stanley Melbourne Bruce c.1923.